J H Reed Park is a picturesque outdoor garden park with two street frontages and gentle slopes set amidst trees and bushes. The park's enclosed garden space provides a comfortable retreat from the urban world beyond, while paved footpaths around the scenic space are suitable for wheel chair access, dog walks and evening strolls.
History of the Name
Named after Dr John Hastings Reed, who trained in England and Germany as a chemist. He became the manager of the Hambledon Mill in 1897 and fostered the new strains of Badilla and Goru sugar cane. He married Sybil Orger Dunn and they had three daughters Pegg (1904), Betty (1905) and Nancy ‘Bill’ (1908).