CairnsPlan 2009 user guides

The below guides were developed to assist with the interpretation of Council's new planning scheme - CairnsPlan 2009 - Consolidated Planning Scheme.

User Guides

PDF File icon

Introduction to Cairns Plan (61.2 KB)
The City is comprised of 19 Planning Areas. Planning Areas identify areas of similar or compatible land use and identify the dominant land use preferred in each Planning Area. The Planning Areas are the key element in illustrating the land use strategy for the City.

PDF File icon

Development Application (69.5 KB)
Not all development activities require a development application to be made. The Assessment Tables for each district determine the level of assessment for a development.

Last updated: 22 January 2016