

#### MINUTES POST ELECTION MEETING

#### 12 APRIL 2024

#### 9:00 A.M.

PRESENT: Cr A Eden (Chairperson)

Cr R Coghlan Cr A Middleton Cr B Moller Cr B Olds Cr R Pyne Cr M Tickner Cr T Tim Cr K Vallely

Cr C Zeiger

APOLOGY:

**OFFICERS:** 

M Martin Chief Executive Officer

C Posgate Director People & Organisational Performance
E Johnson Director Planning Growth & Sustainability
M Wuth Director Cairns Infrastructure & Assets

D Puia Director Lifestyle & Community

L Whitton Director Finance & Business Services

N Masasso Director Economic Development & Advocacy

G Everson Associate Director Service Delivery

S Stephen Associate Director Engineering Services

A Combe Executive Manager Marketing & Communications

P Rogato Media Coordinator

A Turnbull Executive Manager – Engagement

S Godkin Minute Secretary

#### **TABLE OF CONTENTS**

COI	NFLICT OF INTEREST	3
PUF	RPOSE OF MEETING	3
AGI	ENDA ITEMS:	
1.	APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR93/1/2   #7394518	3
2.	COUNCIL MEETING DATES FOR 2024	4
3.	COUNCILLOR APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND BOARDS 93/1/2   #7394521	5
4.	APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLOR ADVISOR/S93/1/2   #7396994	7

#### **CONFLICTS OF INTEREST**

There were no conflicts of interest declared.

#### **PURPOSE OF MEETING**

To consider the matters listed on the agenda.

EDEN / MOLLER

That Section 15 of Standing Orders be suspended.

carried unanimously

ZIEGER / TIM

I nominate Cr Zeiger for the position of Deputy Mayor

MOLLER / VALLELY

I nominate Cr OLDS for the position of Deputy Mayor

Council appoints Cr Zeiger to the position of Deputy Mayor.

Lost with Councillors Eden, Tim and Zeiger voting for the motion.

Council appoints Cr Olds to the position of Deputy Mayor.

carried with Councillors Moller, Tickner, Pyne, Vallely, Middleton, Coghlan and Olds voting for the motion

OLDS / COGHLAN

That Section 15 of Standing Orders be reinstated.

carried unanimously

#### 

#### MOLLER / VALLELY

1. That Council adopts the following schedule for Ordinary Meetings for 2024.

#### **April 2024**

Post-Election Meeting Friday, 12 April 2024 (9:00 am)

#### May 2024

Wednesday, 1 May 2024 (9:00 am) Wednesday, 22 May 2024 (9:00 am)

#### June 2024

Wednesday, 5 June 2024 (9:00 am) Wednesday, 19 June 2024 (9:00 am)

#### **July 2024**

Wednesday, 10 July 2024 (9:00 am) Wednesday, 24 July 2024 (9:00 am)

#### August 2024

Wednesday, 14 August 2024 (9:00 am) Wednesday, 28 August 2024 (9:00 am)

#### September 2024

Wednesday, 11 September 2024 (9.00 am)

#### October 2024

Wednesday, 2 October 2024 (9:00 am) Wednesday, 16 October 2024 (9:00 am)

#### November 2024

Wednesday, 6 November 2024 (9.00 am) Wednesday, 20 November 2024 (9.00 am)

#### December 2024

Wednesday, 11 December 2024 (9:00 am)

2. That the public be notified accordingly of the new meeting dates and venues.

carried unanimously

# 3. COUNCILLOR APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND BOARDS . $\ensuremath{\mathbf{6}}$

93/1/2 | #7394521

#### VALLELY / ZEIGER

## That Council endorses the representation on the Committees and Boards listed below.

Board/Committee	Representative (by position)	Recommended for endorsement for 2024 term	
Cairns Regional Council Audit Committee	nirns Regional Council Audit Mayor, one		
Local Disaster Management Group	One Councillor as Chair plus one additional Councillor (could be Deputy but not mandatory)	Mayor Eden (Chair) Cr Olds (Deputy Chair)	
	Chair for Recovery Committee	Cr Coghlan (Chair – Recovery)	
Cairns Art Gallery Board	Mayor or Mayor nominee, CEO or CEO nominee, not more than four additional nominees of the Council	Mayor Eden Cr Tim Cr Vallely Cr Middleton Cr Pyne CEO	
Far North Regional Organisation of Councils Board (FNQROC)	Mayor & one Councillor (only one Councillor attends)	Mayor Eden Cr Tickner (alternate)	
FNQ Regional Road Group	One Councillor	Cr Tickner	
Local Authority Waste Management Advisory Committee  One Councillor Cr Moller		Cr Moller	
Cairns Indigenous Art Fair (CIAF)	Mayor, per the CIAF Constitution	Mayor Eden	
Cairns River Improvement Trust	Two Councillors	Cr Tickner Cr Moller	
IRRT – Independent Rate Relief Tribunal	Two Councillors	Cr Tim Cr Vallely	
North Queensland Sports Foundation	One Councillor	Cr Coghlan	

Board/Committee	Representative (by position)	Recommended for endorsement for 2024 term	
Cairns Local Marine Advisory Committee	One Councillor	Cr Tim	
Reef Guardian Councils	One Councillor	Cr Middleton	
Queensland Climate Resilient Councils Program – LGAQ	One Councillor	Cr Middleton	
Coastal Council Adaptation Task Force (C-CAT) - LGAQ	One Councillor	Cr Tickner	
Cities Power Partnership - Climate Council	One Councillor	Cr Middleton	
International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives (ICLEI) – Local Governments for Sustainability	One Councillor	Cr Middleton	
Recreational Fishing Working Group	One Councillor	Councillor Cr Olds	
Bluewater Maintenance Dredging Technical Advisory Committee  Two Councillors (Division 8 and 9) Cr Coghl Cr Olds		Cr Coghlan Cr Olds	
Local Government Association Queensland (LGAQ) Policy Executive	One representative for District 10	Mayor Eden	
Regional Development Australia FNQ&TS (RDA)	Appointed by ministerial approval	Cr Moller CEO – Mica Martin	

### carried unanimously

4.	APPOINTMENT OF COUNCILLOR ADVISOR/S	16
	93/1/2   #7396994	

#### MOLLER / MIDDLETON

#### That Council:

- 1. Resolves to allow the appointment of up to 2 councillor advisors for the current council term (2024-2028) in accordance with Section 197A 197D of the *Local Government Act 2009* subject to budget and workshop deliberations.
- 2. Notes the requirements of the Local Government Act 2009 and Local Government Regulations 2012 must be observed should the appointment of councillor advisors occur.

carried unanimously

THE MEETING CLOSED AT 9.13 AM

THE MILETING SECOLD	A1 3:10 AW	
CONFIRMED THIS	DAY OF	2024
CHAIR / MAYOR OFFICER	CHIEF EXECUTIVE	