Australia Day Awards

Nominations for the 2016 Australia Day Awards are now closed. The awards ceremony will take place on Monday 25 January 2016, ahead of the region’s Australia Day community celebrations.

Council's Australia Day Awards are endorsed by the Federal and Queensland Governments in line with the national Australia Day Awards.

The Awards recognise the unsung heroes in our community who enrich the lives of others, and do so with no fanfare and very little public recognition. Introduced in 1996, the Awards have gained more esteem and recognition each year.

Nominees must be residents of the Cairns Regional Council area who through their personal efforts have made a significant contribution to the community. A person may be recognised in any field, including the arts, education, community work and business. Contributions must be of an outstanding nature and of direct benefit to the Cairns Regional Council community.

Award categories

There are several award categories. Junior awards, including the Young Citizen of the Year, are open to residents aged 17 and under as at 31 December.

  • Citizen of the Year Award
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Cultural Award
  • Junior Cultural Award
  • Sportsperson of the Year
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year (open)

Last updated: 04 January 2016