Australia Day Awards

The Australia Day awards are closed for 2014.  Nominations for the 2015 Australia Day Awards will open from 27 October and nomination forms will be available from this page.

Nominate a community champion for Australia Day honours

Council's Australia Day Awards are endorsed by the Federal and Queensland Governments in line with the national Australia Day Awards. 

The Awards recognise the unsung heroes in our community who enrich the lives of others, and do so with no fanfare and very little public recognition. Introduced in 1996, the Awards have gained more esteem and recognition each year.

Nominees must be residents of the Cairns Regional Council area who through their personal efforts have made a significant contribution to the community. A person may be recognised in any field, including the arts, education, community work and business. Contributions must be of an outstanding nature and of direct benefit to the Cairns Regional Council community.

Award categories

There are six award categories: 

  • Cultural Award
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Senior Sportsperson of the Year
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year 
  • Citizen of the Year Award
How to nominate

Nomination forms are available from Council's customer service offices and Cairns Libraries branches or can be downloaded from Related Documents at rights. Alternatively, you can submit your nomination online using the web form (see Related Links at right).

insert div